Resource Groups
  • 24 Jan 2023
  • PDF

Resource Groups

  • PDF

Article Summary

Note

This is a machine-translated version of the original Japanese article.
Please understand that some of the information contained on this page may be inaccurate.

summary

The Teams feature in TroCCO allows you to grant roles to resource groups on a per-team basis.
Members of a team that has been granted a role can perform the operations that the role allows.

Role permissions

The scope of operation permissions managed by roles on resource groups can be broadly divided into the following two.

  • Resource Groups
  • Each resource (belonging to a resource group)

Each role is allowed to do the following:

Operation permissions for resource groups

RolesAdministratorEditorsOperatorsReaderNo


Operations\

RoleSupplement

Edit a resource group----Resource group name and notes can be edited
Delete a resource group----
Resource group permissions----Can be granted or removed roles from teams
View a list of resources in a resource group-
View resource group details

Operational permissions for each resource

RolesAdministratorEditorsOperatorsReaderNo


Operations\

RoleSupplement

Editing Resources---Includes an operation to add a resource to a resource group
Duplicate a resource---Connection information, dbt Git repository, dbt job settings cannot be replicated
Deleting a resource---
Resource Execution--
Browse resources✓(*)✓(*)-* In the case of the operator/viewer role
dbt Git repository and connection information details screen cannot be viewed.
Viewing the Job Execution Log-
Creator Exception Rights

The creator of a resource group or resource has the same operational privileges as a user with an administrator role for each.

Overlapping roles

In the case where a resource group grants different roles to multiple teams, users who belong across multiple teams that are granted roles will have duplicate roles for that resource group.
In this case, the user is given a role with broader privileges.
The containment relationship between roles is "administrator⊃editor⊃ operator⊃ viewer".

The following is an explanation using specific examples.

  • Have users who belong to both the "Engineering Team" and the "Sales Team"
  • The Data Analysis Resource Group is
    • The engineering team has been granted the Editor role
    • The sales team has been granted the operator role

Users can then perform operations on the Data Analysis resource group and the resources under them as permitted by the Editor role.

Resource group list screen

On the resource group list screen, you can check the list of resource groups that exist in your TroCCO account, and create, edit, and delete resource groups.

Resource groups displayed on the resource group list screen

All resource groups created in your TroCCO account, including resource groups that have not been assigned roles to your team, are displayed on the resource group list screen.

image

Create a new resource group

Resource group creation permissions

You must have administrator privileges for your TroCCO account.
For more information about trocco account permissions, please refer to Permissions for Your Users.

image

Resource group details screen

On the resource group list screen, click each resource group name or details to display it.
The following is the resource group details screen from the perspective of a user with an administrator role.

image

(1) Edit

Edit the resource group name and notes.

(2) Delete

Delete a resource group.


Once you delete a resource group, you can't get it back. Please be careful.

(3) Permission settings

Grant each team a role for the resource group.

(4) Delete a role

Delete a role that has been granted to the team.

(5) Resource group creator

The resource group creator is displayed.
The resource group creator has the same operation privileges as a user with the administrator role for the resource group.

(6) Resource List

A list of resources appears.
You can click the tabs to switch the types of resources displayed.

Users who do not have roles

For users who do not have a role for the resource group, the resource list is not displayed.
image

(7) Resource Details

Click to go to the details screen of the corresponding resource.

Details screen for each resource

The following section describes the details screen of the transfer settings as seen from the perspective of a user with an administrator role as an example.

image

Users who do not have roles

If a user does not have a role for the resource group that contains the resource, the resource details screen cannot be viewed.

(1) Execution

Run the resource.
Only users with the role of Operator or higher can operate the operation.

(2) Edit

Edit the resource.
Only users with the Editor role or higher can operate the operation.

Adding resources to a resource group
  • You can add resources to a resource group from the new or edit screen for each resource.
  • You cannot add a resource to more than one resource group.

image

(3) Reproduction

Clone the resource.
Only users with the Editor role or higher can operate the operation.

(4) Delete

Delete the resource.
Only users with the Editor role or higher can operate the operation.


Once you delete a resource, you can't get it back. Please be careful.

(5) Resource creator

The resource creator is displayed.
The resource creator has the same operation privileges as a user who has the administrator role for the resource.

(6) Reflected in Git

Git repository integration

You can integrate Git repositories with resource groups.
For details, please refer to About Git repository integration.


Was this article helpful?